Alford: Wine to Water (South Australia)

4/11/15  The beach had been calling Di since Alice Springs. She’d had enough of waking up and not being at the beach. The medical term for it is “Beach Separation Anxiety” and the cure is “Eat. Beach. Sleep. Repeat”.

Our agenda now was to get Di to the coast and the sand and sunshine to top up her tanks. Good plan, unfortunately it coincided with a wet spell that hit South Australia big time. It rained last night in Clare and it rained when we pulled in for the night at Alford on our way to the coast.

IMG_7968A

See what happens when you wash the vehicles. I just knew it was a bad move. You thumb your nose at the rain gods and they in turn let rip with what they do best.

We, however, were undaunted, and remained resolute to our beach plans.

At about this time, I started thinking about my Beach Body. Step 1: Have a Body. Step 2: Go to the Beach. My problem, you see, was that I hadn’t had what could be called a (capital letter) Body for quite some time and had neither the time nor capacity to get one organised. I’d just have to go with what I’ve got.

So, scratch Step 1; proceed straight to Step 2; introduce Step 3: Drink more Alcohol to compensate for Step 1. How fortuitous that we’d just come from the Clare Valley wine district. Problem solved.

Looking forward to the Beach.

“The sun and the sand and a drink in my hand.” – Me

Categories: Travel News, Travel News - South Australia | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

