Kruising Musings – 7

10/02/2015  Some people name their vehicle and paint that name on the front of it, generally above the windscreen. We see it regularly on our travels and have started taking particular note of the names.

Naming a vehicle is generally a guy-thing. To be honest, I’ve generally given each of my cars a name. My 1955 Morris Minor panel van was known by many names, depending on where it broke down and what state of inebriation I was in at the time. But generally, it was called Morrie.

My 1990 Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo rocket went by the name of Presciousss…you have to emphasise the “esses” at the end and say it like Gollum from Lord of the Rings to give it the right effect. Yep, that’s what I called it, sad I know.

But I never went so far as to actually paint the name on any of my vehicles.

That part, I think, must be a girl-thing.

In our travels, we’ve seen mainly motorhomes and buses that have a name painted above the windscreen like “Gone Romin”, or some-such-thing. And they were generally couples in them.

Noticeably, the signwriting is poor quality so the commitment to naming the vehicle hasn’t extended so far as to warrant a professional sign writer, but rather Hubbie did it.

Whenever I see a vehicle with a name painted on the front, it’s like a big flashing neon sign that says “Don’t bother coming over to talk with us because you’re likely to catch the vehicle naming disease and want to go straight back for the paint and brush”.

Categories: Kruising Musings | Tags:

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

