The Bunya Mountains (South East Queensland)

2/08/2014  Paula (my gorgeous sister) and Peter Thorpe invited us to join them at the Bunya Mountains for a few days. As you know what a worrier I am, I was beside myself about venturing up the mountain when there are signs at the beginning of the road that clearly state – NOT suitable for trucks, buses and caravans. But as you can see we made it and that was the start of a wonderful few days. 

20140730_124207

Each day included lots of bushwalking with Peter T. setting a cracking pace. I’m glad I was trying to get some photos of the birds we could just get a glimpse of through the undergrowth, as I certainly couldn’t have kept up with him. I’m in seventh heaven, as I am back into birdwatching, as I was when we lived in the bush outside of Toowoomba. I’m sure my Pete didn’t mind stopping and waiting for me to get that elusive shot!!!

IMG_6213

We were camped in a beautiful spot that was on a large grassed area – perfect! There was lots of catching up with Paula – starting with a knock on the door first thing in the morning and then she’d climb onto the bed with her coffee to have a chat – just like when we were growing up – but could it have just been that we had the diesel heater on to warm us up first thing in the morning. Thanks Peter T for the wonderful campfires at night to warm us up after dinner. 

An unexpected surprise for us was meeting up with Eleanor Sharpe, who worked with Pete for over 10 years in Toowoomba. She now owns the General Store as well as the Motel, ELZ Bistro and Lyrics Restaurant at Dandabah. We spent a lovely evening catching up over wine, and Chicken and Bunya Nut Pizzas. She has done a fantastic job redoing everything in just under a year. A fabulous achievement. Beautiful food, beautiful surroundings and beautiful company! Thanks Eleanor. 

photo 1

Photo 3-09-2014 7 03 00 pm

Categories: Travel News, Travel News - Queensland | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

